Setlist 12/2/2011

This is my rebound show. I missed last week due to an extreme Thanksgiving-induced food coma, but I’m back strong this week. There is, however, a silver lining, because I had a good personal playlist to work from. I had two weeks worth of music to choose from instead of the customary one. The focus track this week is definitely “Folklore” by Opeth, off their new album Heritage. The first four or so minutes of the song are almost too groovy and amazing.  Their new sound is more Mahavishnu Orchestra than Gojira, and I fucking love it! The rest of the setlist:

The Postelles – Boy’s Best Friend {The Postelles}

Anders Osborne – Echoes Of My Sin {American Patchwork}

Cephalopods And Their Allies – Illusions, Confusions, Allusions {Robots About It}

Fang Island – Welcome Wagon {Fang Island}

The Front Bottoms – Swimming Pool {Live At 90.3 The Core}

Cave In – Inspire {Antenna}

The Mannish Boys – Need My Baby {Lowdown Feelin’}

Farewell Continental – Dagger, Dagger, Terror, Terror {Hey Hey Pioneers!}

Opeth – Folklore {Heritage}

Horrible Crowes – Mary Ann {Elsie}

Touche Amore – Sesame {Parting The Sea Between Brightness And Me}

Quest For Fire – Hawk That Hunts The Walking {Quest For Fire}

Kayo Dot – Cartogram Out Of Phase {Coyote}

Brock Murdoch – Horsefight {Role Model}

La Dispute – The Most Beautiful Bitter Fruit {Wildlife}

The Human Abstract – Nocturne {Nocturne}

Zs – Nobody Wants To Be Had {Arms}

Hunters – Brat Mouth {Hands On Fire}

Meshuggah – Combustion {obZen}

Buddy Guy & Carlos Santana – I Put A Spell On You {Bring ‘Em In}

The Fall Of Troy – F.C.P.R.E.M.I.X. {Doppelganger}

River City Extension – Mexico {The Unmistakable Man}

Dave Herrero – Leave Me Be {Austin To Chicago}

The Sound Of Animals Fighting – Act 2: All Is Ash Or The Light Shining Through It {Tiger & The Duke}

The Front Bottoms – Maps {The Front Bottoms}

About Ryan Felder

My name is Ryan. I like music. On this blog, I post the setlists for my radio show, Art For Art's Sake, as well as reviews of the latest new independent music and a Song Of The Week, every week. You can listen to my radio show on 90.3 The Core, an independent student-run college radio station broadcasting from Rutgers University in Piscataway, New Jersey. My show runs Thursday nights from 12am-2am and streams live on the internet at Thecore.fm. View all posts by Ryan Felder

Leave a Reply

