Song of The Week: “The Number of The Beast” by Shekel

It’s only been 3 days since my last Song Of The Week post, but I’m bored and I have a good one for y’all. Anyone even barely interested in electronica knows that Skrillex is the next big thing. His abstract yet party-friendly approach to house/dubstep is actually pretty popular (he sold out a show at Starland Ballroom in Sayreville, NJ before I could get tickets!). I, for one, am a huge fan of his wackiness. Yet as crazy as his productions are, he’s not the most extreme, by a longshot. From what I’ve heard, that title belongs to Israeli dubstep producer Shekel. His music is sometimes umbrella’d under the term filthstep, though that’s mostly a term constructed by fans. Shekel’s style is generally abstract. His music contains dark, atmospheric vocal samplings that are terrifying in the right contexts, slow, shuffling dubstep rhythms, and a sonic palette so weird and otherworldly it’s hard to believe you’re still listening to music. This song, “The Number of The Beast,” is the darkest, freakiest track his Mind Fragments EP has to offer. If you like what you hear, you can check him out on Facebook. It’s definitely worth your time.

About Ryan Felder

My name is Ryan. I like music. On this blog, I post the setlists for my radio show, Art For Art's Sake, as well as reviews of the latest new independent music and a Song Of The Week, every week. You can listen to my radio show on 90.3 The Core, an independent student-run college radio station broadcasting from Rutgers University in Piscataway, New Jersey. My show runs Thursday nights from 12am-2am and streams live on the internet at Thecore.fm. View all posts by Ryan Felder

Leave a Reply

