Song Of The Week: “People Say” by Portugal. The Man

So I decided to start a new feature for the Art For Art’s Sake blog: a song of the week, where every Tuesday evening I will post a track I’ve been digging a lot recently. I want to do this because I feel the desire to share my music with people, as I think I know some pretty good stuff. My goal is to spice up someone’s day – whether it’s with a song you’ve never heard or an old favorite that you haven’t heard in ages. I plan on picking a wide variety of songs – both new and old. So I guess this feature will end up kind of being like Art For Art’s Sake itself. Weird.

This week’s song is “People Say” by Portugal. The Man. They are an indie rock band from Wasilla, Alaska, the town that gave America 2008 vice-presidential candidate Sarah Palin. Let’s judge Wasilla as a place to live based on Portugal. The Man, not its national politicians. Portugal. The Man, lead by distinctive frontman John Gourley, are one of the hardest-working bands in modern indie music, having released a full-length LP every year since 2006. They’ve done that while touring constantly. The best part, however, is that each of their records is different than everything else in their catalogue, and that they are all excellent! The song I’ve chosen to spotlight is “People Say,” the lead single off their 2009 record The Satanic Satanist. The track is light, fun, and seriously groovy with a good lyrical message. It’s surely one of the best songs the band has released, which is really saying something considering the massive variety and quality their discography boasts. I decided to post a live version of the song, recorded at Lollapalooza on 8/7/2011, because it has great sound quality and just feels like a lot of fun!

If you like this song, you can check out Portugal. The Man on Facebook or at their official homepage, and also give their new record, In The Mountain In The Cloud, a look. It’s good stuff.

About Ryan Felder

My name is Ryan. I like music. On this blog, I post the setlists for my radio show, Art For Art's Sake, as well as reviews of the latest new independent music and a Song Of The Week, every week. You can listen to my radio show on 90.3 The Core, an independent student-run college radio station broadcasting from Rutgers University in Piscataway, New Jersey. My show runs Thursday nights from 12am-2am and streams live on the internet at Thecore.fm. View all posts by Ryan Felder

Leave a Reply

