Art For Art’s Sake Setlist 8/3/2011

Hey all. Had another excellent show. The music selection was decidedly more eclectic than last week. Rather than focusing on one specific genre/theme (last week it was all local, New Jersey music), I played a broad smattering of music that I’ve been listening to recently. I had a particularly good time spinning “The Beginning And The End” by Isis; I haven’t heard them much recently and the song put me in a nice mood. Also of note were two of the female-fronted doom metal bands I spun this week: The Curtains Of Night and Battle Of Mice. Since most metal is male-dominated, I fucking love hearing some badass ladies putting their two cents in. I also injected in some abstract, experimental music; Zs and Many Arms are pretty wacky and out there. I was joined in the studio by my good friend Sarah Morrison. If you enjoyed hearing her on our mic breaks, you can hear more of her on her normal show, Sarah Morrison’s Infinite Playlist, which airs Monday mornings 8-11 AM; check out her blog here. Without further ado, here’s the setlist:

Skrillex – First Of The Year (Equinox)

Shekel – Number Of The Beast

Minus The Bear – My Time [Live From Dangerbird Studios]

Zs – MMW II (Part 2)

Starfucker – Julius

The Curtains Of Night – Gather The Horses

mewithoutYou – january 1979

Battles – Sweetie And Shag

Trophy Scars – Designed Like Dice (Crickets In Tune)

Taking Back Sunday – El Paso

Cephalopods And Their Allies – Illusions, Confusions, Allusions

Battle Of Mice – Sleep And Dream

Anthony Green – Big Mistake

Many Arms – Thoughtscreens

Rx Bandits – In All Rwanda’s Glory

Rx Bandits – Pal-Treaux [Live 9/24/2010]

A Great Big Pile Of Leaves – Sleeping On The Train

The Blood Brothers – Burn, Piano Island, Burn

Mastodon – Black Tongue

Circa Survive – The Longest Mile

Iwrestledabearonce – Next Visible Delicious

Isis – The Beginning And The End

Joan Of Arc – Love Life

Motion City Soundtrack – Time Turned Fragile

About Ryan Felder

My name is Ryan. I like music. On this blog, I post the setlists for my radio show, Art For Art's Sake, as well as reviews of the latest new independent music and a Song Of The Week, every week. You can listen to my radio show on 90.3 The Core, an independent student-run college radio station broadcasting from Rutgers University in Piscataway, New Jersey. My show runs Thursday nights from 12am-2am and streams live on the internet at Thecore.fm. View all posts by Ryan Felder

Leave a Reply

